In the original schoolroom very large albums depict the history of the town and district in words and photographs to make interesting perusal. The town map set into a table top with photographs of the original buildings is an eye catching display. The residence rooms are set circa 1910 with some unique paintings and rare clothing. Other rooms hold interesting collections representing the hobbies of early residents. Early farming practises are represented with varying implements and tools.
The collection is always evolving as descendants of pioneer families reassess farming practices and find unique and valuable items hidden in the back shed soon to be demolished. Every room has been refreshed in the past five years reflecting the new items accepted. Most items are on permanent display. As the largest percentage of visitors are tourists, the most common phrase we hear after “I remember” or “Mum/Grandma had one of those” is “it’s a lot larger than it looks from the front”.
We are proud of our oyster dredge, wallaby skin coat, wool hand shears with grooved grip and a roller mill designed and constructed by local farmer and hired around the district.
Most of our volunteers act as guides bringing olden times to life by demonstrating various washing devices, comparing office equipment to computers, or speaking to each other on an operator–connected telephone. Children can pretend to be a fireman on one of the town’s original fire trucks or race in a locally made soapbox.
The Museum building was erected by the government in 1878 as a school room with dwelling attached. The dwelling consisted of a bedroom, sitting room, kitchen/dining room, with a lean-to on the back for the bathroom and laundry. A wooden shelter shed/porch was at the back. The school was moved to larger premises in 1908 and the headmaster continued to occupy the refurbished building until 1974 when a modern residence with built next door. The Museum was opened as a Museum/Art Gallery in January 1976 following the successful display of items at the Centenary celebrations in 1973. The Centenary Committee hosted a meeting to establish the first Museum Committee who, as the building was empty, began the process of acquiring a lease from the District Council who had care and control of the property from the Education Department.
Due to our involvement with the ‘work for the dole’ scheme volunteers attend on Mondays and Tuesdays each week. All our volunteers bring a very diverse range of skills and expertise, what a difference it makes to our displays!